Meaningful Reference Library

On her January 6 blog, Kristen Lamb posted The Writer’s Guide to a Meaningful Reference Library. It’s a list of awesome books on the craft of writing, including everything from structure and plot to building believable characters to social media. I own many of the books on the list she offers, and I agree that they are essential to any writer’s resource library. Head over and check out the list. Pay special attention to The Emotion Thesaurus by Angela Ackerman and Becca Puglisi. I just bought this book a couple months back and I use it constantly.

 
Are there any books in your reference library that aren’t on Kristen’s list? I have Character Naming Sourcebook by Sherrilyn Kenyon that I frequently use, and Please Understand Me II by David Keirsey (it’s about personalities, and I use it for character creation). I have quite a few others that aren’t on Kristen’s list, but I’d like to see what’s in your reference library that you rely on. Please share.
 
-Sonja
3 thoughts on “Meaningful Reference Library

  1. I confess that my main ‘reference book’ is the internet. Random name generators give me a long list of first and last names to mix and match to my heart’s delight until I find just the right name for a character, dictionary and thesaurus sites for wording, and, of course, the #1 reason why the NSA is probably monitoring my activity, all the bizarre web searches I do to make sure I’m maintaining accuracy (“parts of a bomb” and “how does radiation effect the planet” are sure to get me on SOMEONE’S list…).

    • Thanks for sharing, Aggeloi. I also use the Internet, and if the NSA is watching, my house is in trouble, too. Poisons, guns, caring for strange injuries, fun stuff. I used to use a baby naming site to come up with character names, but then I bought Kenyon’s book, and now I mostly use it.

Leave a Reply

